About the NASW CE Approval Program

NASW offers organizations the opportunity to provide formal social work continuing education (CE) for programs that meet our criteria. The NASW CE Approval Program extends to national, regional and multi-state continuing education providers. State or local providers should check with their NASW state chapter except where no state approval programs are in place.

Social Work Licensure Board Endorsement

NASW has approval from more than 38 state licensure boards without restrictions. Providers and participants are responsible for following states' rules and regulations regarding licensure. For example, several states do not recognize distance-learning programs as valid continuing professional education

Boards that Endorse the NASW CE Approval Program

  • Alaska
  • Alabama*
  • Arkansas*
  • Arizona*
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas*
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada**
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virgin Islands
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming
*Boards that Accept NASW Approved Providers if they follow Social Work Board CE Rules
**must be real-time interactive and at least 2 hours

Boards that Do Not Endorse the NASW CE Approval Program

  • California
  • Michigan
  • North Carolina
  • West Virginia

Boards that currently do not have Continuing Education Requirements

Submit A Course for Approval Today!

National Association of Social Workers, 750 First Street, NE • Suite 700, Washington, DC 20002
©2014 National Association of Social Workers. All Rights Reserved.
  • Update Your Profile in the Member Center
  • Login