NASW Foundation announces award recipients

The NASW Foundation announces the 2012-2013 recipients of the Ruth Fizdale Chapter Research Grant; the Jane B. Aron Doctoral Fellowship; the Consuelo W. Gosnell Memorial MSW Scholarship; and the Verne LaMarr Lyons Memorial MSW Scholarship.

The Ruth Fizdale Chapter Research Grant gives NASW chapters the opportunity to pursue new research projects that center on an emerging and specific issue in social work. The grant will fund research projects that join practice and policy issues with correlating social issues. Recipients are:

  • NASW-North Carolina; purpose of research: To position social work as a lead profession within the medical home and integrated care models in North Carolina.
  • NASW-Kentucky; purpose of research: To gather current data on social work salaries and student loan debt as well as corresponding geographic areas and knowledge of the successes and barriers to recruitment and retention.

The Jane B. Aron Doctoral Fellowship is for social work doctoral students who are working on dissertation research in health care policy and practice, providing them with partial support.

The recipient is:

Jennifer Greenfield, a social work doctoral student at the George Warren Brown School of Social Work at Washington University in St. Louis. Greenfield’s dissertation will explore the long-term financial consequences of caregiving to understand how provision of informal care impacts families.

The Consuelo W. Gosnell Memorial Scholarship is awarded to MSW candidates with a demonstrated commitment, or an affinity, for working with the American Indian/Alaska Native and Hispanic/Latino populations.

Recipients are:

  • Amber Murphy, University of Southern California School of Social Work
  • Louise Reina, University of Southern California School of Social Work
  • Beatriz Aguirre, University of Nevada, Reno, School of Social Work
  • Lacina Onco, Boston College Graduate School of Social Work
  • Linda Sookhoo, Stony Brook University School of Social Welfare
  • Lisa Sciarani, Columbia University School of Social Work
  • Suzanne Lino Camacho, Washington University in St. Louis, George Warren Brown School of Social Work
  • Gabrielle Mohr, University of Denver Graduate School of Social Work
  • Alina Perez, Long Island University Department of Social Work
  • Rebecca Roepke, University of Buffalo School of Social Work.

The Verne LaMarr Lyons Memorial Scholarship is awarded to MSW candidates with a dedication to working in the African-American community who also have experience or a demonstrated interest in health and mental health practice.

The recipients are:

  • Cherish Norman, University of South Carolina College of Social Work
  • Jaime Ayers, Florida State University College of Social Work.