Spotlight (January 2014)

Remer, Little, Crombie, and Messner The Society for Social Work Leadership in Health Care honored several NASW members during its 48th annual meeting and conference award ceremony held in October. Stanley G. Remer, adjunct social work faculty at Valley Forge Christian College, won the Ida. M. Cannon Award; Virna Little, senior vice president for Psychosocial Services and Community Affairs at the Institute for Family Health, received the Health Care Social Work Leader of the Year Award; Paula Crombie, director of the Social Work Department at Yale-New Haven Hospital, won the Eleanor Clark Award; and Carolyn Messner, director of Education and Training at CancerCare, received the Hyman J. Weiner Award. (Photo, L-R: Remer, Little, Crombie, and Messner )

In addition, NASW and Stacy Collins, senior practice associate at NASW, received the newly created SSWLHC Partnership Award. The honor recognizes Collins and NASW for their strong collaboration and partnership with the society.

Pat BrownellNASW Social Work Pioneer® Pat Brownell was elected to serve a two-year term as vice president of the National Committee for the Prevention of Elder Abuse. She will assume her post this month. Also starting this month, Trudy Gregorie will serve as the new NCPEA president, taking over the position from Georgia Anetzberger, who has served since Jan. 1, 2012. Anetzberger has been elected to another two-year term on the NCPEA board of directors.

Brownell previously served as chairwoman of the NCPEA Public Policy Committee. She is an associate professor of social work at Fordham University, a Hartford Geriatric Faculty Scholar, a Gerontological Society of America Fellow, and the United Nations representative to the International Network for the Prevention of Elder Abuse.

Cynthia StuenCynthia Stuen received the Walter M. Beattie Jr. Award from the State Society on Aging of New York in October at its 41st annual conference, “Aging in New York: Building Capacity and Empowering Communities.”

The award honors a distinguished member of SSA for outstanding contributions to the work of SSA and for commitment to the goals of the society.

Stuen has served in various capacities at Lighthouse International during her 24-year tenure. Her most recent position was as senior vice president, chief professional affairs officer. She was chairwoman of the American Society on Aging from 2008 to 2010. Steun is a fellow of the Gerontological Society of America and the New York Academy of Medicine. She was chairwoman of the State Society on Aging of New York from 1988 to 89. Stuen chaired the NASW Specialty Practice on Aging from 2003 to 2005, and recently served on the NASW Task Force expert panel to develop practice guidelines for social work practice with family caregivers of older adults.

Samira BeckwithNASW Social Work Pioneer® Samira Beckwith was elected to the board of directors for the National Program of All-Inclusive Care for the Elderly, or PACE, which provides a long-term, community-based alternative to nursing home care.

Beckwith, president and CEO of Hope HealthCare Services, has been a member of the National PACE Association’s public policy and education committees since 2009. In 2010, she became founding president of the Florida PACE Association.