Summit highlights equality

Four ‘trailblazing’ women recognized during event’s 25th anniversary luncheon.

Barbara Mikulski, Mavis LenoSen. Barbara Mikulski, D-Md., left, is recognized with a 2012 Fearless Trailblazer Award during a luncheon at the Women Money Power summit, held in March in Washington, D.C. Feminist Majority Foundation Board Chairwoman Mavis Leno is at right. Mikulski also accepted a Trailblazer award for Sen. Barbara Boxer, D-Calif., who was not able to attend the event.

Women Money Power, a project of the Feminist Majority in partnership with the Feminist Majority Foundation, held its 2012 summit in March in Washington, D.C., which included a 25th anniversary luncheon to present the 2012 Fearless Trailblazers Awards.

The project supports the significant efforts of people who are working to advocate and protect women’s rights and equality.

Attendees at the daylong summit were able to participate in four forum plenaries: “Bishops, Politicians and the War on Women’s Rights”; “Taking Action to Mobilize the Women’s Vote 2012”; “Coming to a State Near You: Roundup of Ballot Initiatives and Voter Suppression Efforts”; and “Year of the Woman 2012: Another Anita Hill Moment?”

Speakers included Ellie Smeal, Feminist Majority president; Sandra Fluke, president of Georgetown University Law Students for Reproductive Choice; Terry O’Neil, president of the National Organization for Women; and E. Faye Williams, president for the National Congress of Black Women.

The awards lunch recognized Sen. Barbara Mikulski, D-Md., who is also a social worker; Sen. Barbara Boxer, D-Calif.; Rep. Carolyn Maloney, D-N.Y.; and Arlene Holt Baker, executive vice president of the American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations.

The four award recipients were chosen for their long-standing work and achievements in ensuring the rights of women, children and the LGBT community, in addition to advocating for immigrant rights, health care reform and women’s rights abroad.

“Feminist Majority — I love the phrase,” Mikulski said. “They have helped change the face of American politics … and shaped the last half of the 20th century. Twenty-five years is just the beginning. I look forward to 25 years more.”

The Feminist Majority Foundation was founded in 1987 and is dedicated to women’s equality. For more information, visit NASW is a proud sponsor of the Feminist Majority and the Women Money Power project.