Verne Lamarr Scholarship Panel

Authorization and Accountability

The Verne Lamarr Scholarship Panel is established by the NASW Board of Directors to develop and implement the Verne Lamarr Lyons Scholarship Program. The Panel will report on a regular basis to the Awards Committee on matters of policy and program and to the Social Work Research and Education Fund Board on financial matters.


To develop and implement a program for awarding the Verne Lamarr Lyons scholarship(s).

Time Frame

The Verne LaMarr Lyons Scholarship Panel continues to the extent there are funds available

Members, Terms and Criteria

The Panel shall have up to seven (7) members with at least one representative from: the NASW Board of Directors, the NASW Development Committee, the NASW national staff, the Black Caucus, a university representative and a representative from the private sector if possible. The term of members shall be three (3) years with terms staggered.

Specific Responsibilities

The program will establish criteria for eligibility, will consider applicants and will recommend a candidate to the Board for receipt of the award.

Social Work Research & Education Fund Board
Revised February 1999

Verne LaMarr Lyons Memorial MSW Scholarship

The Verne LaMarr Lyons Memorial Scholarships are awarded to master's degree candidate in social work who demonstrates an interest in or has experience with health/mental health practice and has a commitment to working in African American communities.

Learn more

Questions about this panel?

Contact Kerri Criswell at