Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the Board of Directors is responsible for the affairs of the Association between meetings of the Board of Directors.  The Committee consists of Officers of the Board and and an additional four members of the Board who are appointed by the NASW President.


Kathryn Conley Wehrmann, PhD, MSW, LCSW

Kathryn Conley Wehrmann, PhD, MSW, LCSW

Kathryn Conley Wehrmann, PhD, MSW, LCSW (Illinois Chapter), received her PhD and MSW from the University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign. She is currently a faculty member and BSW Program Director at Illinois State University (ISU). She also served in public child welfare and healthcare settings, providing a sound background for being chosen to be a Senior Fulbright Scholar to Romania where she taught and conducted research on child welfare reform. Dr. Wehrmann served at ISU as principal investigator on two child welfare training grants and was recognized for successfully securing approximately $1M in grants and contracts.

Honored as NASW Lifetime Achievement award recipient at the district level, she served as NASW District Chair, state Conference Chair, Illinois Chapter President, National Board Representative for Region IX, and member of the Executive Committee. She's a current member of the Baccalaureate Program Directors, and the Fulbright Association.

Vice President

Mildred (Mit) Joyner, MSW, LCSW, BCD

Mildred (Mit) Joyner, MSW, LCSW, BCD

Mildred (Mit) Joyner, MSW, LCSW, BCD (Pennsylvania Chapter), received an MSW from Howard University and a BSW from the Central State University in Ohio. She directed and chaired the undergraduate social work department at West Chester University of Pennsylvania for 25 years.

She retired after 32 years as full professor with emeritus status. Ms. Joyner is co-author of Critical Multicultural Social Work and Caregivers for Persons Living with HIV/AIDS in Kenya: An Ecological Perspective.

She serves on the boards of DNB First Bank, Chester County Food Bank, and Dana Farber Soulmates Advisory Board. Honored as the William Culp Lecturer; the Dr. Inabel Burns Lindsay awardee; and named a Social Work Pioneer. She also received the Living Beyond Breast Cancer Founders Award.


Heather Bradley-Geary, MSW

Heather Bradley-Geary, MSW Heather Bradley-Geary, MSW (Missouri Chapter), received a master of social welfare degree and a bachelor of fine arts (in music therapy) degree from the University of Kansas. She is Lead Developer of Supportive Housing at The Vecino Group where she develops permanent supportive housing to end homelessness.

Ms. Bradley-Geary has served on many boards including: the Missouri Chapter of NASW and the Executive Committee of the Board; the Governor’s Committee to End Homelessness; Homeless Management Information System; and Multiracial Family Circle. She serves on the Homeless Services Coalition of Greater Kansas City and was honored as the Missouri Social Worker of the Year and Humanitarian of the Year in 2011.


Patrick J. Johnson, LCSW

Patrick J. Johnson, LCSW

Patrick J. Johnson, LCSW (Connecticut Chapter), consults in non-profit management and governance and is Interim Executive Director of the Connecticut Association of Nonprofits Inc. He recently retired as President of Oak Hill, the largest provider of comprehensive community-based services for people with disabilities in Connecticut. Mr. Johnson received a MSW from the University of Connecticut and a BS from the Central Connecticut State College and is an advocate for people with disabilities and those marginalized by society.

Mr. Johnson served as ranking administrator and/or board member for a wide range of human services. Prior to Oak Hill, he was Executive Director of Catholic Charities/Catholic Family Services and managed municipal services. He has been a leader in the full spectrum of human services in Connecticut, including mental health, health, basic human needs, assistive technology, and housing and has often served as a Board Treasurer, including the NASW Connecticut Chapter.

Region II Representative

Amy Di Mauro, LCSW

Amy Di Mauro

Amy Di Mauro, LCSW, is a Clinical Director and student internship coordinator at Rushford, one of Connecticut's leading non-profit providers of addiction and mental health treatment for teens and adults. She is a graduate of Springfield College School of Social Work (SSW). She completed her undergraduate degree at UCONN. She is on faculty at University of St. Joseph’s School of Social Work as a preceptor and Boston University School of Social Work as a field advisor. Additionally, Amy serves on the board for Springfield College SSW.

She has moderated and presented on several panels and workshops at conferences across the state of CT including the NASW annual conference. NASW leadership positions include serving on the Nominating Committee, Delegate Assembly, Region Representative, and as President for NASW CT Chapter. She is currently a member of the finance committee of both the NASW CT Chapter and National Board of Directors.

Region V Representative

Anthony J. Hill, PhD, LICSW, CFSW, ACSW

Anthony J. Hill, PhD, LICSW, CFSW, ACSW

Anthony J. Hill, PhD, LICSW, CFSW, ACSW

(Metro DC Chapter), earned a PhD and MSW from Howard University and a BA from George Washington University. Associate Professor at Delaware State University Department of Social Work; an adjunct clinician for the Wendt Center for Loss and Healing and a licensed social worker in the District of Columbia and the State of Delaware. Also, a Certified Financial Social Worker and a member of the Academy of Certified Social Workers.

Dr. Hill has held numerous leadership positions within NASW including: Chapter President (DC Metro), Lead Delegate for Delegate Assembly, Membership Committee Chair, member of the National Finance Committee, Chair of the Council of Chapter Presidents, member of the Member and Chapter Relations Committee, and member of the Board Implementation Steering Committee for Modernization. Also serves on the National Board of Directors for the American Association of University Women.

Region XII Representative

Marc Andrews, LCSW, DCSW, MBA

Marc Andrews

Marc Andrews, LCSW, DCSW, MBA (Oregon Chapter), earned an MSW from the University of Pittsburgh and an MBA from Carnegie Mellon University. He is a licensed social worker in Pennsylvania and Oregon and provides mental health and counseling services to gay men in Portland, Oregon. He is also certified in Advanced Treatment of Sexual Abuse Survivors, Gestalt Psychotherapy, and Cognitive Therapy. He teaches at Portland State University, School of Social Work.

A member of NASW since 1990, Mr. Andrews has held numerous positions at the chapter level including Chair of the Ethics Committee and Board President and Vice President. Has over 25 years of experience in the field of social work including administration, clinical supervision, agency planning and direct service and is committed to working with groups dealing with addiction, homelessness, classism and/or racism.

MSW Student Member

Jennifer Peck

Jennifer Peck

Jennifer Peck (Colorado Chapter) is in her second year in the Masters of Social Work program at Boston University where she has earned a reputation for articulate presentations, consensus building among students and quick understanding of key issues. Her emphasis of study is trauma and it's effects on adults and children with the addition of certifications in addiction counseling and domestic violence She is currently interning at the Stout Street Health Center, a part of the Colorado Coalition for the Homeless to further her in this direction.

Ms. Peck earned a BA in Sociology from the University of Colorado at Denver and provides behavioral skills therapy to children on the Autism Spectrum at Trumpet Behavioral Health, Inc. using the ABA method of treatment.


For questions about NASW  governance, please write to us at  governance@socialworkers.org.