Social Work Licensure Board Endorsements

NASW's CE Approval Program is endorsed by more than 46 state licensure boards without restrictions. Providers and participants are responsible for following states' rules and regulations regarding licensure. For example, several states do not recognize distance-learning programs as valid continuing professional education.

Boards that Endorse the NASW CE Approval Program

  • Alaska
  • Alabama*
  • Arkansas*
  • Arizona*
  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Hawaii
  • Idaho
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas*
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • Nevada**
  • New Hampshire
  • New Mexico
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virgin Islands
  • Virginia
  • Washington
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

* Boards that Accept NASW Approved Providers if they follow Social Work Board CE Rules

** Must be real-time interactive and at least 2 hours

Boards that do not recognize the NASW CE Approval Program

  • New Jersey (Applications may be filed with the NASW New Jersey Chapter)
  • New York (Applications may be filed with the NASW New York State Chapter)
  • North Carolina (Applications may be filed with the NASW North Carolina Chapter)
  • West Virginia

Boards that currently do not have Continuing Education Requirements

Puerto Rico

NASW CE Standards

Standards for Continuing Professional Education

By consistent participation in continuing education beyond the entry-level professional degree, social workers can maintain and increase their proficiency.

Download NASW Standards for Continuing Professional Education