News Releases

Folks sitting and looking at newspapers, phones, and tablets

Graduate students from Illinois, Massachusetts and New York Awarded National Social Work Scholarships

NASW Foundation announces educational awards

WASHINGTON, D.C.— Four graduate students have been awarded scholarships from The National Association of Social Workers Foundation (NASWF) for their commitment to enhancing the quality of life in African American communities, as defined by the Verne LaMarr Lyons Memorial MSW Scholarship program.

“These recipients exemplify the sort of passion and drive we like to see in Foundation scholarship candidates,” said NASWF director, Robert Arnold. “Specific to these awards, their work in the field of African American health and mental health practices matches the program’s mission well. We are grateful to the New York Community Trust for its generous support of the program’s mission as well.”

The recipients are:

Annalise Catharine Everett, University of Chicago, School of Social Services Administration

Teresa J. Thompson, Hunter College, Silberman School of Social Work

Mathieu Joshuah McNeil, Boston College, Graduate School of Social Work

Walter Raleigh Higgs, Simmons College, Graduate School of Social Work

The Verne LaMarr Lyons Scholarship is a monetary grant awarded to a master's degree candidate in social work who demonstrates an interest in, or has experience with, health/mental health practice and a commitment to working in African American communities.

The scholarship is a memorial to social worker Verne LaMarr Lyons, who committed his life to increasing awareness of pernicious health concerns affecting African American such as insufficient prenatal care, infant mortality, AIDS, cirrhosis, and general life expectancy. As a result of a grant from the New York Community Trust Robert and Ellen Popper Scholarship Fund, the 2014-2015 fellowship will increase to $4,150 from $2,000 each.

Social workers are skilled professionals who have gone through extensive training to receive a bachelor’s degree, master’s degree or doctorate in social work. Social workers are licensed by the state after receiving their degree.

They help improve the quality of life for families, veterans, the elderly, minorities and people living with mental illnesses. According to Bureau of Labor Statistics social work is one of the fastest growing professions in the country, with more than 650,000 licensed nationwide.


For more information about the NASW Foundation or the Verne laMarr Lyons Memorial MSW Scholarship program, please visit or e-mail

The National Association of Social Workers Foundation (NASWF) is a charitable organization created to enhance the well-being of individuals, families, and communities through the advancement of social work practice.

The National Association of Social Workers (NASW), in Washington, DC, is the largest membership organization of professional social workers with 130,000 members. It promotes, develops, and protects the practice of social work and social workers. NASW also seeks to enhance the well-being of individuals, families, and communities through its advocacy.